Skip to main content

Media School Distinguished Alumni Awards 2023

October 6, 2023 at 6:00 to 9:00 p.m. EDT
Presidents Hall, Franklin Hall, 601 E Kirkwood Ave, Bloomington, Indiana, 47405

The Media School and Media School Alumni Association are hosting the 2023 Distinguished Alumni Awards banquet.

Friday, October 6, 2023

Schedule of Events
6:00 p.m. Cocktail reception
6:45 p.m. Dinner
7:30 p.m. Awards recognition

2023 Inductees

We will honor six recipients with the school's highest alumni honor.

Rafat Ali, MA ’01, CEO and Founder, Skift
Douglas Freeland, BA ’80, Director of Sports and Entertainment, McDonald's (retired)
Nancy Callaway Fyffe, BA ’72, Director and Producer, ABC, CBS, VIACOM, PBS
Bob Jenkins (posthumous), BS ’69, Voice of the Indianapolis 500
Jay Kincaid, BA ’82, Director, CBS and NBC
Pegie Stark, BFA ’75, MA ’81, PhD ’85, Creative Director, Stark Design

For information about the inductees, visit

We have reserved a small block of hotel rooms at the Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel. Call 800-209-8145 and reference block code MEDIACD23 to reserve a room.

If you have questions, please contact Becca Bogenschutz at or 812-856-6195.

Masks are now optional in the IU community and encouraged for those who may be more comfortable in public spaces.